banner banner banner banner banner banner
Unknown Good Guy
Unknown Good Guy
10:00pm - 12:00am
Good Times, Great Oldies
E-Mail Your Request
My Profile
The Car Tech Show, Saturdays 10am-email your questions to Dane Donovan @
Call in your request now 513-563-1480!
Gary Rossignol the host of The Rock & Roll Real Estate Hour Saturdays at 9am. Call Gary at 513-563-1480!
Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Festival Calendar
Car Show Calendar

Music News
Subscribe To This Feed  View All

Deep Purple's Ian Gillan reunites with his old band The Javelins to record group's debut album


Years before he helped define heavy metal and hard rock as lead singer of Deep Purple, a teenage Ian Gillan played in a band called The Javelins that performed covers of American blues, rock 'n' roll, soul and country tunes. Now, more than 50 years after they broke up, Gillan and The Javelins have reunited to record the group's debut album.

Ian Gillan and the Javelins will be released August 31 as a CD digipak, a vinyl LP and a digital download. The 16-track collection features renditions of rock classics like The Contours' "Do You Love Me," Roy Orbison's "Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)," Chuck Berry's "Memphis, Tennessee" and "Rock and Roll Music," Jerry Lee Lewis' "High School Confidential," Buddy Holly's "It's So Easy!," Howlin' Wolf's "Smokestack Lightnin'," and Ray Charles' "What I'd Say."

Ian Gillan and the Javelins was recorded without the use of modern technology over the course of four days in March of this year at a studio in Hamburg, Germany.

"These contemporary recordings by The Javelins are drawn from our set lists, circa 1963, when I was 18 years old," says Gillan. "Now, a few years later, I have the privilege and joy of working with my old mates from the original group…as we make a long overdue LP."

Joining Ian are his fellow original Javelins -- lead guitarist Gordon Fairminer, rhythm guitarists Tony Tacon, bassist Tony Whitfield, and drummer Keith Roach. Longtime Deep Purple keyboardist Don Airey also contributed to the project.

You can check out Ian Gillan and the Javelins' lead track, "Do You Love Me," now at earMUSIC's official YouTube channel.

Here's the album's track list:

"Do You Love Me"
"Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)"
"Memphis, Tennessee"
"Little Egypt (Ying-Yang)"
"High School Confidential"
"It's So Easy!"
"Save the Last Dance for Me"
"Rock and Roll Music"
"Another Saturday Night"
"You're Gonna Ruin Me Baby"
"Smokestack Lightnin'"
"Hallelujah I Love Her So"
"What I'd Say"
"Mona (I Need You Baby)"

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Hide Comments


Cincinnati's Lowest

Gas Prices

Provided by


Gary Rossignol's

Rock and Roll Real Estate Hour

Saturday Mornings at 9

call Gary @ 513.772.2402 or



Click for PODCASTS


Listen to the Greatest Rock and Roll of All Time 24/7 on your Android or Blackberry - Get The App Here !!

Click Here to Enter To Win this Week's NCHB Birthday Cake!

LinkedUpRadio Envisionwise Web Services